Last Drops of Summer

Northwest Branch

We meet and plan. We update calendars and get the posters on the wall (thanks, Kim). Classrooms in order, handouts soon to be xeroxed, assignments posted on the webpage. But in my mind, I want to float on crystalline water or sip lemonade beside a pool or most of all get lost in another delicious book. Every year, I find it harder to say goodbye to summer. It signals another defeat. I didn’t write my way further into that story I started two years ago. I didn’t get out with the camera more. I didn’t post all the photos I wanted to get up on Flickr. It seems as if time just evaporates–and faster and faster each year.

So in the last days before the start of school, I try to reach into the time left and pull out one last beautiful, perfect day–like a last summer peach–sweet and warm and bright in color. *Sigh*

3 thoughts on “Last Drops of Summer

Leave a Reply

